Let’s Talk Food : Johnny Doughnuts {San Rafael}

SMALL BATCH DOUGHNUTS AT JOHNNY DOUGHNUTS by charlotte miller

Not a sweet person myself, I have never liked doughnuts. No matter how many I have tried, I just can’t seem to understand the hype. Well, that changed this morning when I had my first bite of a lime mascarpone bismark at Johnny Doughnuts in San Rafael. What’s a bismark, you ask? A bismark is a raised doughnut filled with jelly or jam or in this case, lime mascarpone. What blew me away about this doughnut was the dough that was not overly sweet and extremely fresh. Other menu highlights are their version of the cronut and the house-made hot chocolate. Produced only with locally sourced ingredients in small batches, Johnny Doughnuts is only open as long as the supply lasts so make sure to head to San Rafael for a wholesome and delicious doughnut that will turn even most avid of doughnut haters. 

JOHNNY-DOUGHNUTS

 

Leave a Reply

